About the Office of Federal Lands Highway

The Federal Lands Highway Program (FLHP) was created by the 1982 Surface Transportation Assistance Act (STAA) and signed by the President on January 6, 1983. The FLH program was subdivided into four core areas, namely, the Indian Reservation Roads, Park Roads and Parkways, Refuge Roads, and Public Lands Highway Programs. The Public Lands Highway Program consisted of the Forest Highway and the Public Lands Highway Discretionary Programs. In 2012, Moving Ahead for Progress in the 21st Century Act (MAP-21) eliminated the FLHP and created the Federal Lands Tribal and Transportation Program (FLTTP). The FLTTP is subdivided into the Tribal Transportation Program (TTP), Federal Lands Transportation Program (FLTP), Federal Lands Access Program (FLAP) and Federal Lands Planning Program (FLPP).

The primary purpose of the FLTTP is to provide financial resources and technical assistance to support a coordinated program of public roads that service the transportation needs of Federal and Indian lands. It supports a consolidated and coordinated long-range program funded under the Highway Trust Fund. One of the major factors associated with the success of the program is the Federal Highway Administration's strong relationship with our Federal, State, local, and tribal partners.


To be the partner of choice to Federal Land Management Agencies and Tribes. We will implement innovative transportation solutions that provide access to and through public lands.


Improving transportation to and within Federal and Tribal Lands by providing technical services to the highway/transportation community, as well as building accessible and scenic roads that ensure the many national treasures, within our Federal Lands, can be enjoyed by all.

Division Map

Map of FLH Divisions